Formula SAE Team Hosts Annual Competition in Marietta

Motorsports TeamMarch 4, 2016 – On Saturday, Feb. 27, the Kennesaw State University Motorsports’ Formula SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) team, one of three in the nation to recently be named a Honeywell Outstanding Collegiate Branch by SAE International, hosted the 4th annual Formula South Invitational on the Marietta campus. The Kennesaw State student competition team is part of a world-wide network of university programs where students attempt to create the best open-wheeled, single-seat race car.

A competition was held where teams also had the opportunity to test and tune their cars. The event was open to the public and promoted STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math), Formula SAE, and KSU’s Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology.

Along with Kennesaw State, other Formula SAE teams participating in this year’s invitational were from Clemson University, Florida Atlantic University, the Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Kentucky and Mississippi State University. In addition to the friendly competition among these outstanding university programs, the event raised more than $1,300 for the Robert Glenn Allen Memorial Endowed Scholarship, named for an alumnus and beloved former faculty member of Southern Polytechnic State University.

Florida Atlantic finished atop of the overall standings. Georgia Tech was the runner-up with KSU ending in third place.

Following the event, members of the Kennesaw State squad presented a check representing the funds raised to Trent Turk, chair of the Polytechnic Foundation of KSU Inc. and a 1986 Southern Poly graduate with a Bachelor of Science in civil engineering technology. The Polytechnic Foundation raises money for the three colleges on the Marietta campus and is a strong supporter of KSU’s Formula SAE team.